Unit 58 Foley Sound

When we were first introduced to this Unit, we did some activities on Audacity (a sound recording and editing program).We were taught by our Tutor on how to loop sound on Logic Pro and did so by demonstrating with creating his own sound, using objects in the classroom to do so.

Sound Synthesis

I was told by my Tutor to go on ‘Moodle’ to look up a useful video tutorial which would help me with creating this specific type of sound. I would go onto ‘Generate’ on the toolbar and from there, select ‘Tone’. That was where I could put in the number of Frequency, Amplitude and Seconds that it goes on for. I have altered it for each harmony each time as the tutorials has showed me.

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 09.48.16
Creating Harmonies
Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 09.56.46
All harmonies made…
Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 10.00.42
…and put into one.
Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 10.16.14
Separating and placing effects.

I started playing around with the effects to see how it would affect my sounds in Audacity.

Creating my own sounds

After following the video tutorial, I tried to create and replicate sounds, but only to end up messing around with Audacity. I tried different forms of frequencies, bass, pitch etc. I had trouble making realistic sounds that I should of made in this task. I did enjoy arranging different pitches and frequencies to make these strange sounds and I think it will be useful for creating sound without instruments.

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 11.35.34
Experimenting
Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 11.54.06
new sound edition
Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 12.08.30
created some distorted drum and bass (according to a classmate that listened to this)

Researching Sound Effect Designers

Animation Sound Design: Ben Burtt creates the sounds for Wall-E Part 2 (Part 1 is on Youtube)

Ben Burtt is a sound effect designer and from what. In this video above explains shows he chooses and creates sound effects for the film Wall-E. Other people who have worked with him have claimed that Ben himself would create sounds that would fit along with purpose or emotion behind it. Since Wall-E is a robot themed movie, he would have had to think about the mechanical noises robots would make, especially for Wall-E and EVE. From watching this clip, I have learned that I shouldn’t rush into placing random sounds for an object. I should look for what type of object I would need to provide a specific sound effect for and look at why it should be used. It makes sense for a robot to make machinery sounds as it is a machine itself.

Delia Derbyshire- Sculpturess of Sound Documentry Part 1 (other parts are on Youtube)

Delia Derbyshire is a sound effect designer who composed electronic music. She has used feedback and tape to create a space and time travelling sound effect and also made the Doctor Who theme. I find it intriguing that she managed to use limited sources and create a product. This gave me an of using Audacity and editing the frequencies to create some form of sound to fit in my sound toy.

Proposal

Working title:

I want to create a 3D sound toy using Unity and Audacity.

Target audience:

I believe that this would appeal to other artists or at least people who take an interest in interactive art.

What will you work towards producing:

I am working towards producing a sound toy that’s digital rather than making something physical as I believe that I would have some difficulty without finding the right tools and materials to make it.

 

Influences, starting points and contextual preferences:

I have taken a look at different musical or interactive artwork that produces sound in it. Although most of them were made of physical materials, I want to make mine digital.

 

Early ideas research and sources:

  • Musical swings
  • Musical see-saw

Both of these were physical interactive pieces of artwork.

Intended techniques, non digital and digital processes:

I would like to use Audacity (for creating audio) and Unity (for the sound toy design).

Timescale:

Probably about 4 weeks.

Proposed methods of evaluation:

I would get a few people to play around with my sound toy and discuss what they liked and what they thought could need improve.

Brief- sound toys

Our brief set by the Tutor is to create a 2D or 3D sound toy, which is meant to be interactive to the viewer when the final product is made, but until that happens, there will have to be a range of prototypes to make based on my research. It can just be random sounds triggered or something musical. I sometimes have a hard time thinking of concept ideas, but I can have simple ideas that I can make into a concept.

I currently have an idea of making an interactive ball in Unity to make sounds when making contact with the walls and floor. Making it in Unity will need coding, I’m aware of that.

Other interactive artworks

I have taken a look at other forms of sound toys made by other people to see what sort of ideas they have done and how they managed to build it with the type of materials that they got their hands on. I think it would be great for inspiration to see what others have made. May be I’ll be able to create something similar, but with my own twist, you never know.

This was a grid with fog generator made to create sound waves. It’s apparently a few years old. This was also able to conjure up puffs of smoke resulting in a range of shapes and patterns created by the contraption. I thought this looked interesting, considering my interest in visual art.

Concepts already done

I have a concept which involves making a musical bouncing ball in Unity, but I will need to look for what script I would need to make for it to be interactive and produce sound. I would probably benefit from asking other classmates for tips on what I’m clueless about. I often mess up on scripting environments and characters. I know that for a fact that I have to make the audio for this interactive toy. I have some rough ideas of what I want my toy to do, but I’ve been thinking about the sound and layout I want for my toy.

FullSizeRender
Two prototype concepts

I have two ideas involving a musical ball and a pathway that produces sound. I want to scale the cuboid/pathway to be a whole lot bigger so that the player has more space to move around when interacting with the environment. I would like this to be in first person view for interacting as a preference. I do want to compose my own music to use if I can.

Sounds to use

 

Prototypes

I basically winged it from the original plan where I wanted to make a musical path and decided to make some changes for myself as I wasn’t really pleased with making a narrow pathway. I wasn’t sure how to script the ball at the time (I should have used Google for research, big mistake).

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 10.10.03
Prototype 1
Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 10.22.31
Importing sounds for my soundtoy

I had a little trouble with importing assets earlier when I needed to.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 10.54.19
Duplicating stepping stones

I remember for my last sound toy involved musical stepping stones.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.12.59
added cliff-rock texture

 

 

Final evaluation

When I showed the final project to my class, I knew that there a few issues to do with coding as well the speed of my character walking and running. When I had someone play test it, they, as well as the rest of the class had commented on the lack of variety on the audio I ended up using for my sound toy. I wasn’t pleased with putting other forms of audio I had recorded previously, but they suggested that it would have been better. I was also told that the textures would have been rendered, along with added grass textures to improve the look of the environment. It was nice to get this form feedback where the class can point out errors that I have made from coding or some mistakes that I may have caused by accident. I was actually confused as to how to fix these errors before being presented to the class, but luckily there’s always a chance for improvement and looking at aesthetics was the least of my concern at the time when I was being too picky on the type of sound  and interactivity that I wanted, but it only costed me more time. Hopefully, I can understand coding and using scripting better in the future.

Leave a Reply

