Unit 34 Image Manipulation Computer Applications

We’ve been learning how to use Photoshop to manipulate/edit images to change it to what we want to create. Our tutor showed us a few tricks for us to use when editing. With this unit, I was able to learn new skills to use on Photoshop and makes it easier for me to use.

Week 1

I done goofed

The first image was made using images of fruits as well as the second picture below. When I was first getting use to creating goofy faces to get into practice of using Photoshop techniques our tutor had showed us, since some of us were new to using Photoshop to edit and create. The second picture below wasn’t really necessary to make as we only needed to create one picture out of these images of fruit and veg, but I thought that it would be good for me to practice some more.

bleh

I had only messed around when I wanted to make a fruit and veg alien for the fun of it. I had unintentionally messed around with the blur tools in an attempt to change the appearance of the image. I’m actually quite pleased with how the image turned out even if I only messed around with the image using the blur tool. It was fairly simple for me to make from gathering bits and pieces of fruit and veg and (horribly) blend together. eggman?

I tried to create an egg head, but due to my poor time management, this was all that I was able to do. We were originally able to use a sheet which had different wigs, facial features and types of clothes for your creation to wear. I decided to mess around with the background and create this for my own benefit since, the egghead hasn’t got a lot of character.

Making a Hoax

My hoax attempt

Our tutor gave us a task which involved making a hoax and I had picked Slender man for the hoax. I will admit that this image doesn’t pass for a legitimate hoax (due to the fact that I had been too focused on making sure it resembles a professional painting, from which I would of been proud of if that was the main objective of this task. It was hard for me to find a Slenderman full body image (that didn’t look cartoonish), but of course when it comes to time management, I’m bound to screw up one way or the other.

Week 2

coffee_time with a hint of beetle

This was just an attempt at photoshopping a beetle in a coffee cup. I originally thought that this was going to be a difficult task to complete from looking at other professional photoshop works from other people, but that was before I had learned about the common techniques that you could use in photoshop. I know that it isn’t very realistic looking, considering that I’m not well experienced with photoshop editing to create these types of images. Being able to photoshop the beetle and the coffee cup together wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be. Quiriguá monument

There wasn’t much that I had to do for this photo, but I only had to change the colour hue/settings to improve the quality of the photo. I had struggled to find out how to edit and change the appearance of the photo.

weird dolphin thing
horrible attempt at MLG dolphin

This was just a horrible attempt at photo shopping a dolphin in a fishbowl. I had trouble with figuring out how to fit and scale the dolphin to fit into the bowl before adding the other objects/accessories. I was actually looking forward to finishing the image at the time, but I’m still okay with how it turned out. I’m pleased with how the smoke effect (I created) turned out.

Week 3

hyenawithamoutashe
purple distinguished gentle-hyena

This lovely purple hyena was done when we had to  get use to using colours to blend in our colouring using a layer setting called ‘colour’. This allowed me to be able to blend in the colouring with the picture. It took me a while to completely colour in the picture. I had to tidy the edges with the eraser tool and in doing so had wasted a lot of time.

Glass message
Friendly message

This picture was created with using a condensed window image, a random image of our own choosing and with the special effects, opacity and layer settings, this picture was created. When I first had started making this image, I was struggling with how I could be able to make it seem realistic as if someone had actually written a message on the window. I had fiddled around with the different layer settings for each layer that I had on the whole canvas.

Screen shot 2015-02-25 at 11.26.09
I’m out in the sky!

This was the first attempt at making a panoramic image. I wasn’t happy with final appearance of this image from how distorted and stretched out it looks to me. I really struggled with creating the spherical panoramic image. It was hard for me to edit the clone stamp tool, cut down and create this image and to be honest, it’s unfinished (if the stretched out sky didn’t make it obvious).

Screen shot 2015-02-25 at 11.25.53
I’ve been shattered

In this task, we had to select a portrait from Google images that we would use select areas to move and increase their size. I’m quite pleased from this first attempt of geometrically cutting out and placing pieces of the portrait into different areas to give a visually appealing result and I don’t usually feel so pleased with photoshopping (due to my lack of experience).

Week 4

watchMEMEdisco
watch MEME disco (sorry, not sorry)

This was an image that I photoshopped out of my own free-time for my own enjoyment as well. I did revise previous techniques such as using the magic wand tool, setting the one layer to colour mode and using the blur and smudge tools to blend it in. You could probably tell from the content of the image itself.

Leaf collage

leaves
Used for my leaf collages

Our tutor wanted us to go out and collect a range of around nine leaves to take with us back to college and scan in. At first, I was confused as to why we had to perform this task, but it soon made sense when we were told that we had to create a collage out of these leaves. I was confused as to how I could create a collage out of a small pile of leaves, but I soon realised that you can a lot of things in photoshop. I was surprised that I managed to create these collages to begin with.

leaves collage 1
a leaf flower
leaves collage 2
wallpaper?
leaves collage 3
mantis army

Mixed Media Monster Piece

Our tutor wanted us to use a series of textures and line art drawings of strange creatures/monsters for the rest of us to colour individually. I frequently had trouble with photoshop as it had frozen from time to time, making me start from the beginning every time  since I was stupid enough to not save any of my work in the progress which was pointed out from my tutor. As a result, I started getting into that habit and after so many tries I eventually got it right.

Drawing_1 painting
first painting for the monster piece
Drawing_2 painting
second of the mini-monsters
Name written
My hand written part of my full name
it'samonsterpiece
a monster piece?

Sonic fan character composition

For our second composition, we had a choice of what we wanted to paint. We also needed to look for available textures to use in our painting. We only had under ten minutes to look for and a line art drawing and textures to use as a background.

Drakero (sonic fan character)
Drakero the Dragon (sonic fan character) sketch that doesn’t belong to me.

I had selected this sketch which I found at fanpop.com, but the character himself belongs to a Deviantart user named ‘JakeSake‘. I should let you know that I never looked his the character’s actual colour scheme before I painted him and I really wouldn’t want to change the colour scheme now, simply because of sheer laziness.

Drakero (sonic fan character) coloured version
Image in flat colour

To make the process simpler for me whilst making this painting is that I started out with using flat colours for the base on one layer and create new layers for different shades of colour that I apply onto the image. This makes it so that I will be able to delete colouring mistakes without having to erase the other colours as well. I also darkened the line art to make the digital painting process easier to draw.

Drakero (sonic fan character)
Finished painting

I had finished painting the entire character after using flat colours for the first layer and proceeded to add on cel shading with a few gradients on there.

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 13.28.23
first attempt
Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 14.03.06
background colour scheme change
Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 14.14.44
font editing
Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 14.22.28
new font
Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 14.26.34
switch font back to original form
Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 14.34.42
blue fire!
Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 14.42.53
luminosity effect
Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 14.51.54
final product?!
Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 14.58.05
lighting experimentation
Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 15.01.51
didn’t like the luminosity effect

The Final Image

DrakerotheDragonfanartcomposition

Photoshop Typography

The first image below was made using some textures, along with photoshop techniques to create other images as well. We had used a skin texture for the typography by selecting the layer with the typography and switching to the skin layer before inverting the selection and cutting out the rest of the skin texture to take the shape of the typeface.

'skin' word typography photoshop
Attempt at typography texture editing
photoshop typography mood board
Typography mood board
my own type scene typography
My own photoshopped typography

When I made my own typography, I blended in and used more than one background images to give off that ‘futuristic’ look. I was inspired from one of my class mates who made one with a cyberpunk theme. I had some trouble with creating the outer glow for my font and I wish that I could go back and improve, but I’m still happy with the outcome of my work.

A Photoshop Test

It was unexpected to be have to create a replica of an existing image already. I had been using techniques that I had been familiar with, along with new techniques that needed to be used. I was pretty confused at the beginning at how I could create a replica of the image down below.

Street of London photoshop test
This is unfinished

Mountain Composition

This photoshop image wasn’t very difficult to make through the help of the online tutorial I found.

Screen shot 2015-03-25 at 11.27.31
Another unfinished composition.

Mixed Media Collage(s)

We went into groups of three/four and we each had to take pictures of our footpath journey which was requested by the Tutor. All together my group had taken about twenty/thirty photos altogether. I was surprising for me because it didn’t seem like we had taken a lot on our journey.

Screen shot 2015-03-26 at 14.50.39
Image staircase used to create the wall

This photo that I chose as stock for creating the background wall. It didn’t take too long for me to make. I mainly used the brush, airbrush, dodge and burn tool to make this image and I thought that I didn’t do too badly considering that I’m still learning and practicing Photoshop along with the rest of my class mates in college.

Screen shot 2015-03-26 at 14.50.57
background wall made from image above
Screen shot 2015-03-26 at 14.50.48
grave flowers
Media collage assignment
Putting them together

It wasn’t anything special to be honest. I could have added more to it.

Homework

For our homework, the tutor wanted us to look up a photoshop tutorial and create a collage based around that tutorial. I had to make this on the last week before half-term, since I didn’t have photoshop at home to create the image down below.

Inspired Media Collage(homework)
A cat’s dream

Mixed Media Collage Test

This was another test that our tutor wanted us to complete even though I thought it would be difficult. It did also irritate me when I had gotten confused on some parts of making this collage, but it was great to have help from my class mates and my tutor. I still didn’t quite get the hang of using masks and layering at that time. I will admit that I can be forgetful when it comes masking and changing the blending modes for layers to create special effects.

mixed media collage test

Nature Mixed media collage

To make this collage, we had to go into groups of two/three. Since I was in a group of two, we only had to make one collage. I had taken photos from Ashton Court Mansion that we had to select to use on our final collage. We decided what pictures we wanted and what pictures we didn’t want to keep.

image
Concept sketch for collage
image2
sketch for final mixed media collage
moodboard of nature
Moodboard of Nature collages
ashton court photo moodboard
Moodboard of Photos taken from Ashton Court
Screen shot 2015-04-22 at 11.30.03
Final Collage

We managed to create this final image using a few images selected from the mood board and using duplicate layers along with blending methods and layer masks to create this composition. Womad Festival 

Our tutor introduced some us to the Womad festival that had been a festival that encourages world music, which is quite for the rest of us to hear and I do think that it’s good that festivals such as this can encourage other musicians from different countries and continents to present their music and get recognition that they deserve.

Mood boards

womade festival poster mood board
Womad poster mood board

Here is a mood board of Womad posters which I had selected and annotated, explaining what I like about the posters selected. I found it easier to annotate on the sheet for each poster as I went along.

For womad poster research-festival posters mood board
Regular Festival Poster mood board
Bengali womad poster moodboard
Bengali mood board

Since, I wanted to make a womad poster for Bangladesh, I tried to search for images linked to Bangladesh. This would help me for my posters in the future.

Typography

I had found some fonts that I would like to put in my poster. The traditional fonts weren’t as good in my opinion, but it was worth of a try. I wasn’t too sure about fitting in any of the fonts that I had made.

Womad festival fonts
Digital Typography
image
Traditional Typography Design (1)
image(2)
Traditional Typography Design (2)
image (1)
Traditional Typography Design (3)

Sketch Designs

These sketches were a little hard for me to make because I didn’t really have any good ideas at the time on how I would create a poster for Bangladesh, since there probably hasn’t been a womad poster for Bangladesh yet (I can’t really be sure). I know that there isn’t a lot of detail in these sketches. I did rush with these to brainstorm what I wanted. I tried scrolling through Google Images to look through different images to for some inspiration.

image (1)
first design
image (2)
second design
image (3)
third design
image
fourth design

As you may have noticed, I haven’t any colour in these sketches. I never really bothered with that since these were ideas that I would either go through or not go through.

Final Two coloured

These were the final two that I decided to make based on my sketched concepts. They were both based off of the first and third design sketches and were made using Photoshop. I do personally prefer the first one. The second poster seemed too plain for my liking, possibly due to rushing in finishing it from poor time management.

my first womad poster
First Design
My second womad festival poster
Second Design

Final Poster

Since I preferred the first design out of the two, I decided touchup and improve on that poster. Most of the people who had looked at the original commented on how the font made it look more like a horror poster rather than a friendly music festival poster and I did agree with them so I changed the font with help from my peers. I used a font suggested from one of my peers called ‘Minnie’. It was more suitable for the theme of the poster and I’m grateful for their feedback for helping me make an improvement for my poster.

Screen shot 2015-05-12 at 14.21.35
Font change
Screen shot 2015-05-12 at 14.27.07
Opacity decrease and outer glow
Screen shot 2015-05-12 at 14.58.19
Colour experimentation

I do think that this colour scheme is more pleasing to look at, but doesn’t show the same purpose as the original in my opinion.

Screen shot 2015-05-12 at 15.12.23
Switching to original colour scheme.

People who have seen my poster critiqued on my colour scheme giving a christmas vibe which wasn’t my original intention. I know that it may not be pleasing choice of colours, but I thought that it was necessary to show the that it was a bengali Womad festival poster.

My personal digital collage

This is a task where each of us can choose our own theme for our own collage. It can be what ever we want it to be, but we need to make our own resources. This means staying away from Google images. I didn’t have any good ideas from the time of what I wanted to do. I did have a few ideas in my head, but in the end I didn’t like them so they were scrapped. Having a chat and discussing my horror-comedy dreams with my support worker and tutor, I soon accepted that as my theme.

Concept Sketches

image
Dream is the theme.

These were initial designs that popped up in my head. I had often wanted to make a visual representation of my own dreams or at least put in some form of symbolism. I thought that would be appropriate to sketch stickmen since they’re obviously sketches and not the final collages.

Theme Mood boards

Though it was only optional, I thought that it would help me with creating and understanding the theme of the collage that I’m working for.

Screen shot 2015-06-04 at 16.33.17
Zombies
Screen shot 2015-06-04 at 16.43.37
Broken down buildings

First collage

Screen Shot 2015-06-05 at 15.46.15
Imagination runs wild
Screen Shot 2015-06-05 at 16.02.52
Dark Aura
Screen Shot 2015-06-05 at 16.07.57
pencil/pen rearranging
Screen shot 2015-06-09 at 13.54.28
persona and pen rearrangement

Resources

These manga pages were mainly used for creating a photo-frame border around for the collage, whereas the crumpled paper was used for the little cloud for steps.

image (2)
Manga book page
image (3)
Another page
image copy
crumpled paper

 Final Collage

I went along with this idea since it’s mainly a visual representation of what happens in my dreams most of the time. I didn’t really know how I would recreate the day dream with the Tardis since I wouldn’t be allowed to use Google images to use a stock image of the Tardis.

Screen shot 2015-06-04 at 15.22.49
My Dream theme
Screen shot 2015-06-04 at 15.42.03
Building rearrangement
Screen shot 2015-06-04 at 15.53.34
Zombie arranging plus another

Resources

These are just some materials that I used in the collage.

image
wall texture

This texture was used for creating the sand floor in the collage. I mainly used the smudge/blur tool to smoothen it out and shape it to create bumps. I had also shaded it using multiple layers, using the black paintbrush tool and decreasing opacity. It took some effort to make it, but I was fine with how it looked.

image copy
blue table texture

This was used for making the orange sky with overlaying a different colour on top. I originally wanted a blue sky for my collage, but it would give off a positive vibe for me and I didn’t want to do that for a bad scenario.

image (4)
zombie doodle
image (7)
front-flip girl
image (6)
orange guy
image (3)
blonde guy
image (5)
clingy girl

The characters in the collage were hand-drawn. I thought that it would be easier to draw the zombies and characters with a pencil and a piece of paper rather than using a mouse to draw them.

image (3)
pointed roof
image (4)
A chunk of the Bristol cathedral
Leave a Reply

