Unit 72 Drawing Concept Art for Computer Games

Concept Art

This is a form of artwork that some artists create to bring their concept from imagination into visuals to display how their would like their characters visual appearance, items, clothing or the environment to appear, even though it may soon change. This sort of artwork doesn’t need to be in its’ best quality for when you only need a rough idea of what you would like to create and developing it along the way before you can think about making your final designs to be used for a film, game, comic etc.

Sandara is an artist on deviant art who creates digital art consisting of fantasy elements in her pieces. She uses a Wacom tablet and Adobe Photoshop to digitally paint her work, along with blending in the different shades of colours with either the blur or smudge tool. She has had a good use of colour schemes and shading to give off depth and realism in her work. At the moment, there isn’t much about information about the artist other than the fact that she is a female artist from Singapore. Even though her work isn’t really concept art, I feel that her work with the characters and settings can be adapted and used for concept art for a fantasy film/game.

http://sandara.deviantart.com/art/Prismatic-Unicorn-lvl-4-505405691

Michael Kutsche is a German self-taught concept artist who uses digital and traditional media when making his artwork. He is commonly known for his character designs for Tim Burton’s ‘Alice in Wonderland’. His work is reminiscent of artists from the renaissance era such Leonardo Da Vinci (famous painter and sculptor). His artwork for ‘Alice in Wonderland’ gives me dark, gothic vibes, which would be suitable for how Tim Burton may have portrayed the characters. His form form of concept art for his character designs isn’t like what we would see as most concept art is made a rough sketches hat generally lack colour.

http://michaelkutsche.com/alice-in-wonderland/

Yoshitaka Amano is a native Japanese artist who is well known for his concept art for the game series ‘Final Fantasy’. His art is beautifully drawn and designed, creating smooth lines and curves and with a range of unique colours put together. His concept art mainly consisted of traditional media. I liked how he designed it fairly different in comparison to the final designs that we see in the games. I love seeing how the original characters look to begin with and seeing how the final designs look. He mainly creates his work from printmaking. In the past, he had grown up, reading comics and had designed characters for animes before leaving in the 80s to design characters for novels and eventually becoming the character designer for the ‘final fantasy’ series.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yoshitaka_Amano

To sum this up, I briefly explained the meaning of concept art and its’ importance the video games (characters and settings-wise). Then I had looked at three artists with content that I had thoroughly had enjoyed. These artists were people I hadn’t heard about, but looking to their work made me regret that. I had taken a look through Google images and look at a selection of artwork that these artists have created. Because of these artists, I want to work more and practice from time to time so that I could be as good as them eventually. I had explained what I liked about the artists and have unfortunately had little history of these artists, but I’m glad that this assignment helped me to see three different artists have their own style which their adapt into their concept art.

Examples of Renaissance Concept Artists

Since I had looked up three concept artists from the modern era, I thought that to balance it out, I should look up three artists from the renaissance. This way, I can look at their artwork and study to understand how their works can impacted on others artists of today who create their current artwork.

http://andreas.com/hokusai.html

Katsushika Hokusai (1760-1849) was a traditional japanese artist who is well-known for creating (over 30,000 pieces of) artwork by wood printing (a technique where you carve wood and print paint into paper) since printers weren’t invented in the Tokugawa period (1600-1867) at the time, but it was a good technique for creating modern-looking art. I can tell that this artists had a strong influence for Yoshitaka Amano’s artwork with that’s also been used with similar techniques and art-style. I would like to attempt this technique to create a piece of artwork, but it would be difficult to have to carve all of the objects that I want printed onto paper. I would still give it a try anyway.

http://www.leonardoda-vinci.org/biography.html

Leonardo Di Vinci (15th April 1452-2nd May 1519) was a painter and sculptor from the Renaissance era. He was declared as one of the most success artists of his day when he was fourteen years old. From his time at that age, he had studied technical skills as well as artistic skills. Many artists are using the principles of perspective (one point and two point) because he had invented it to get a more accurate idea of creating perspective.

http://en.wahooart.com/@@/8Y36VW-Donatello-David-(detail)-(5)

Donatello (1386-1466) is a famous Italian painter/sculptor who had received commissions for his work before reaching the age of 20. He developed his interest in creating sculptures overtime.


Human figure drawing for concept art

As we will eventually create more concept art. We would need to understand more about the human anatomy. I still have have some difficulty with making them completely proportionate which was why this was the perfect opportunity for the rest of us to practice some more stick figure drawing and more much more new techniques we learn and attempt. We still had to revise previous skills that we had done in class as well as learn new ones. We still had to take turns in modelling in different postures and poses of the rest of the class to observe and draw the stick figures to pin out the positions for the rest of the body to be fleshed out.

concept art figure drawing
Concept Art Stick Figures
concept art figure drawing 2
Concept Art Stick Figures (2)

Soon after drawing stick figures to understand posture positions, we soon had decided to make the drawings more ‘blocked’ looking. I thought that this was good for me to see how other sketches would look when I added shapes to ‘flesh out’ the stick figures that I made.

concept art block figure drawing
Concept Art Block Figures

I had a little difficulty with getting the proportions anatomically correct for this one. I had spent a bit too much time from correcting proportions as much as I could in the time limit that we had to make this sketch before getting a new model to pose for the class.

concept art block figure drawing 2
Concept Art Blocked Figure  (2)

I got fairly lazy towards the end when I was sketching the model sitting. I’m not so satisfied with how cartoonish the proportions appear to be in this sketch, but what would you expect from a lack of practice and quick observation.

concept art continuous line drawing
Concept Art Continuous Line Sketch

For the top and bottom sketches, I had done continuous line drawing which was good for me to look at my improvement at this skill because of this activity.

concept art continuous line drawing 2
Concept Art Continuous Line Sketch (2)

In the last two sketches, we had attempted the use fine line pens to do some more continuous line drawing but after completing the sketch we had used water and a brush to create tone and shadows for our sketches in order to add more depth to it, but I would have put in more detail in my drawings if I were to draw these images below again.

concept art fineline
Fine Line Sketch
concept art fineline 2
Fine Line Sketch (2)

Human face observational drawings

For some more practice on drawing the human face since we’ll be drawing concept art. With concept art, we see characters with different facial structures all the time and drawing the face can be difficult when you haven’t had enough experience and time with practicing the human face time and time again. We did practice with actual people as face models, but this time the tutor had put marble busts on a few tables for us to draw instead since statues don’t move, so it won’t be difficult to draw from observation.

Human face Observational drawing
front three-quarter view

I don’t know why this turned out disproportional. I’m generally fairly good with sketching the human head, but for this, I made it appear deformed compared to the original statue. I suppose if you take a look at it alone, it wouldn’t seem as bad.

Human Face observational drawing 2
rear three-quarter view
Human face observational drawing 3
bust and head front view
Human bust observational drawing (charcoal)
Human bust charcoal drawing

Figure practice and architecture

All these images were quickly doodled from moving around college, observing other people, taking a look at buildings and objects as well. It was difficult for me to sketch from observation due to my hand getting numb from the cold.

human walking figures
walking figures
human figures and observational drawings
objects and walls

When I sketched, I would always mess up on proportions (my biggest weakness).

architecture and construction
poorly sketched out
architecture and construction (2)
architecture

Story Concept Art

To motivate us into making our own concept art and character designs, our tutor decided to set us a task where we had to select a story from a list or our choice and I chose ‘Burning Chrome’ to take a look at the cyberpunk genre which is different for me to do.

Mood boards

Making mood boards was something that I was already familiar with making as I’ve done plenty of these in the past. As irritating as they are to make, they are quite helpful for me when I need some form of influence/inspiration to create artwork as I sometimes have art blocks. From researching images linking to the Cyberpunk theme I have been able to find different elements for that cyberpunk films/novels often contain or are quite common.

Objects:

Burning Chrome mood board 1
Bionic arm (for Automatic Jack from Burning Chrome)
Burning Chrome mood board 2
objects that you can find from a character’s surroundings
Burning Chrome mood board 3
Hacking, weaponry and vehicles

Environment:

Burning Chrome Environment mood board 1
first page
Burning Chrome Environment mood board 2
wow…
Burning Chrome Environment mood board 3
couldn’t find any more original cyberpunk environments

Character Designs

I have sketched some designs of the four main characters of Burning Chrome.

Burning Chrome concept art sketches
beginning characters concepts

From the first concept art (picture on the right) I gave the character sketches to my support worker (who is an experienced artist) for a chance for a critique in order for useful feedback to help me to improve in the future. She had commented on how I needed to change the face shape as the character’s face shapes look too similar and I noticed that as well after taking a closer look at my sketches. I was initially upset at the beginning of having to do the sketches again and revamp the characters, but I soon realised with the feedback I had received and having to start from scratch meant that I could improve how I draw my characters.

Burning Chrome concept art sketches2
tweak in their designs
Burning Chrome concept art sketches5
portrait and revamp of the characters
Burning Chrome concept art sketches4
new update on their designs

Through out the whole process of making and developing these designs, I had started making my own head canons for these characters. I had different ideas for their personalities, race, ethnicity etc. It was enjoyable for me to use the creativity and imagination to conjure up these designs for the characters.

Burning Chrome skin and eye colour scheme
eye and skin colour scheme

I am fairly proud of my coloured images of these characters, specially after gaining such positive feedback for each of them. I had different head canons for each character to link with their body type, hair colour, skin colour, race etc. e.g. Rikki is African-american, Bobby is Caucasian/Asian, Chrome may be South African (I don’t know) and Jack is Australian.

Rikki concept art full body FINAL
Coloured concept art of Rikki
Bobby concept art full body FINAL
Coloured concept art of Bobby
Chrome concept art full body FINAL
Coloured concept art of Chrome
Automatic Jack concept art full body FINAL
Coloured Concept art of Automatic Jack

A some of people from college commented on how my interpretation of Automatic Jack resembled Chris Hemsworth. The original plan was to have my character from Australia and coincidentally  the Actor is Australian. I didn’t mean for this to happen, but I’m not complaining though.

Do you see the resemblance?

Painted concept art

I wanted to try and create a painting of a character in an environment and I selected Chrome, under the impression that she’d be easy for me to sketch and paint. Looking at the sketch and the painting, there are plenty of differences in the environment and the character. I’m quite irritated from accidentally changing the facial structure of the character. Since I didn’t have Adobe Photoshop at home. I had to stick with using GIMP (a free illustration program). I had some difficulty with blending and choosing the colour scheme the most as I’m not the best when it comes to that sort of thing.

Chrome scenario WIP
start up sketch
Burning Chrome painting
Finished?

I know that I need to work more on my digital painting skills as it is my weak area. I do get annoyed with the unintentional changes that I sometimes make when I paint, but sometimes it’s not a bad thing.

Environment/Objects

I know that I haven’t work so much on environment and focused more on the main characters as I believed that they were necessary to include.

chrome hideout
Chrome’s Hideout
Screen shot 2015-06-08 at 09.59.51
Common hover board used by young people/teenagers

Final piece

Screen shot 2015-06-15 at 09.51.36
a scenario

This was based around a scenario where they find Chrome’s hideout and are currently looking for Rikki. Bobby seems to be more impatient and irritated, whereas Jack seems more calm and is confused about Bobby’s mood. I decide to use my own cartoon style to draw and colour those characters to make use of the little time that I had left.

Evaluation

I have been quite eager to do some concept art before we actually begun. I had always been interested in making concept art since being an artist has always been a hobby of mine, along with animation. From making my first sketches of the main characters from Burning Chrome, I wasn’t completely satisfied with how they looked too similar, especially after gaining feedback commenting on their face shapes and jawlines looking too similar, making them look more like siblings. I then decided to revamp them over and over until I had gotten designs that I was satisfied with.

I know that I had spent more time on making a unique look for each character and spent less time on creating environment and objects. Even though I had researched environments and objects, I never really focused on making them, believing that they weren’t that important. Even if I had managed to make some more environments and objects for a cyberpunk future, it would be still be pretty time-consuming as I’m too much of a perfectionist to finish them quick enough. I’m still happy with the artwork, even more after hearing positive feedback from my tutor. It gives me confidence and boasts my self-esteem.

Leave a Reply

