Unit 05 Contextual Influences in Art and Design

Our tutor showed us a variety of art movements for us to select from and we had to use Coggle to create our own mind map around our art style of choice. He wanted us to link this to games concept art and style. We always see video games that have their own unique touch that separates them from others. Even if we focus more on the gameplay (which is important to a game), it can be aesthetically pleasing when you take in the beautiful artwork or graphics you see in recent games. We had to take a look and analyse the history behind it and the inspiration that results from it as well. We need to look at six different art movements to research and make our own artwork based around the art movement.

Surrealism

I had some difficulty finding some key facts linking to the main topics that I had to cover behind surrealism (my choice). This art style isn’t a style that I’m familiar with so the fact that I had struggled to research facts and understand how this art style worked didn’t surprise me. Luckily, the tutor let us look at a Coggle mind map made by someone else so that I would understand just how I should create the mind map for the surrealism art movement, This assignment was useful for me to find out more about surrealism and any artists that had create surreal art. I recently thought about whether I could adapt this into my artwork. I find it bizarre, but interesting to see an art genre that seems completely different from what I have produced from my time of studying and creating my own artwork. Doing this mind map helped me to analyse what it was, the techniques behind it and how I can recognise it. Surrealism is a result from fantasy and reality blended together. This art movement from the renaissance was considered a form of fantasy from that time before the modern form of fantasy art that some of us are familiar with today, but I still see this art form being abstract and strange from what I normally would create.

Surrealism
My poorly made mind map for Surrealism

When I had to research information for this art movement, I didn’t have a broad understanding of surrealism, even of I had seen examples of this art-style. I was honestly confused at how surrealism worked to begin with. Overtime, with help from my support worker, I eventually grasped a basic understanding of what realism was and what features it had to be able to identified as surrealism.

Visual Study

my surreal sketch
My sketch based around the style

This sketch was the result of an experimentation of trying to create some form of surrealism. i remembered the key features which would fit into this genre. I made sure to make the image to be an object that would never come to be in reality and I noticed that most  surreal artists have blended dream and reality together. I made use of creating a cup tree which pours and absorbs water on endless repeat. This was only made using a pencil and a colouring pencil as well. There wasn’t a lot of effort put into there.

Game(s) that I feel were inspired 

Game Logo

‘OFF’ is a french rpg game created by Mortis Ghost. I have spotted this game use of surrealism in the environment and setting of different worlds which the setting lacks any grass/trees, but instead has complete solid ground (for most/all of the worlds you enter in (playing as the main character ‘Batter’). Rather than being surrounded by rivers of water, instead there are meat rivers for one of the worlds where you can travel across on a giant duck. The game for me in terms of appearance was odd, but intriguing to watch the gameplay. This was back when I was new to surrealism. This isn’t a summary of the game as a whole, but I’m only pointing out parts which I believe were surreal.

game screenshot

‘Back to Bed’ is a game that I’m unfamiliar with, but I’m aware that from the environment and the idea behind it is surreal for me. You play as a Subob (human/dog creature) who needs to move objects to leave a clear path for Bob to be able to walk freely. From the game screenshot above, I can already some surreal elements put into this game. The windows contain eyeballs which you wouldn’t see if you were awake, along with a giant apple which for some reason seems to be up three blocking Bob’s path.

Cubism

This is an art movement that I have known about for some time, especially when I had learned about Pablo Picasso from primary school. I wasn’t sure about the name of the art movement this artist had associated with. I had didn’t many problems with looking up examples of artwork that have to link to this art movement. I had a better time making the mind map for this art movement than when I made the mind map for surrealism. Unlike surrealism, this form of art was a lot more abstract and geometric-shaped in comparison. You wouldn’t need to be an expert in realism to be able to learn cubism. I found it quite simple to grasp the jagged appearance that I’ve seen for most artwork of this movement.

Cubism
My mind map that’s better than the first

Visual Study

Print
Messed around with Illustrator

At the beginning of making this genre of artwork, I had used the pen tool to experiment to draw the shape and see how I can shape it to match the features that would qualify for cubism, but going along I realised that I couldn’t really grasp the shape digitally. I had been indecisive about how I wanted the image to look. I may have had trouble from rushing and panicking, worried that I couldn’t really create the correct image to match the criteria.

Cubism sketch
My rough sketch

This was a rough sketch up for me to use as a guideline when I had created my artwork cubism to show my basic understanding of it. I made sure to fit it in the criteria that cubism had.

Cubism artwork
Digital attempt
traditional animal cubism
My final piece

I thought it would be amusing for me if I combined cross-hatching and cubism together since experimenting around in colour choice. I didn’t include a background for this artwork as at the time I didn’t think it was necessary for me to include it, since I only wanted to focus on different uses of media for this piece.

Game(s) that were inspired

Qbert game level screenshot

Qbert is a game where you play as the character ‘Qbert’. The level designs for you to play gives off cubism vibes with the use of colourful, sharp-edged cubes that the ‘Qbert’ (the main character) can jump up and down on whilst avoiding enemies and helping friends (this may be inaccurate as I haven’t really played the game before). From the Wikipedia article, the concept has been inspired from MC Ester (an artist), who’s artwork has associated with cubism.

Pop Art

This art movement was something I was very familiar with and I didn’t really think that I would go on and make artwork like this, but it would be useful to try new art styles to improve and widen my horizons for when I want to make something like this. I recognise the elements that pop art has, since I have seen this art style that the movement has many times in vintage comic books online and from artwork. This movement had begun around the 50s/60s when it had been fairly popular in media and pop culture. This form of movement had been fairly common in older comic books from around that time. Though I still have seen pop art from individual artists.

Pop Art
mind map

Visual Study

Pop Art
Worth a shot

I tried to make this artwork as accurate to the pop art that I have seen from researching this art movement. I tried to create the replicated art genre and at the same time put in my own style with this image made from Paint Tool Sai. I feel happy that I managed to make this digital art piece from scratch rather than sketch it up and then put in more detail.

Game(s) inspired 

Game screenshot

Bad Hotel is a game where you stack and create hotels. From looking at the game teaser, it’s available on iPad. I haven’t really played the game myself, so I don’t have any useful information to say from experience, but when I had looked the information below the video clip on the website, the enemies that were created were inspired from 50s comic books and the 50s comic books generally contained pop art. It was great that there were parts of the game inspired from art deco as well.

Graffiti Art

This art style interested me a lot from the past. I even tried to attempt graffiti art back then, but with markers and pens rather than spray-paint cans, since they were often used to create this sort of art on the walls and at the time. When I was a kid, I often wanted to create artwork on the walls whether it be my house walls or abandoned buildings that have no use to anyone else. It had surprised me when I had found out graffiti had been around in different forms, especially from ancient greek times when images and writing were drawn/scribbled on the walls. This had me thinking that graffiti art had evolved throughout the time from when it had first existed.

Graffiti Art
Mind map

Visual Study

Graffiti artwork sketch
WIP

This was made from messing around in my A3 sketchbook from when I struggled on what to do to create graffiti art as I have never had much experience with creating graffiti myself, but I have tried to create different font styles as I have noticed that graffiti has consisted of it as well as artwork.

Graffiti artwork
digital version

I used a tablet to create a digital counterpart for this sketch. I had really rushed in placed a wall texture to smoothen out and place in the background to give off that urban vibe as graffiti is common in urban areas. Most of the time, I didn’t really have any solid ideas of what colours to use so I went by a choice of random colours andgot on with it and also explored with opacity for the eraser, the smudge tool and the clone stamp tool as well for some effects.

Game(s) inspired

game cover screenshot

Marc Ecko’s Getting Up: Contents Under Pressure is a game where you play as a notorious graffiti artist who creates graffiti for a form of rebellion/protest against the corrupt city they inhabit. The game is set in the dystopian setting, but I see the main character being the result of inspiration from the concept of creating graffiti art and I would like to be able to try more of this art style in the future or may be even adapt it in a game.

Expressionism

Expressionism is the sort of art which is abstract and is aimed to evoke emotions from viewers. The good thing about this is that I won’t have to worry on accuracy or anatomical proportions. it could be an optional choice for me to put in my artwork. Most paintings (in this art movement) are made traditionally, but I may try a form of media other than using paints and digital media for a change. It was quite odd for me to images of expressionism art from different artists as many of them were different from each other. This form of art really has me interested for it’s purpose of evoking emotion in others and the reason I enjoy creating art is for the capability to bring your creativity on a canvas and you can gain interpretations and a series of emotional reactions from other people that look at your work. This is something I could probably create. I’ll be honest with the fact that I was originally confused at how Expressionism worked and decide what image I can create depending on the emotion I’m trying to bring out of the viewer.

Expressionism
mind map

Visual Study

Before I had created this digital artwork with Photoshop, I had originally made a pencil sketch which, at first, was intended to be artwork for this art movement, but since others claimed that it was fantasy artwork, I decided to scrap it and start over again. Expressionism artwork

Game(s) inspired

Game cover

The Dark Eye is one of those horror games that are a great example of inspiration of expressionism from the cutscenes using the technique of clay animation and including a use dark colours to portray the moods and atmosphere required for the game. This was an old game I had seen a trailer of and is more unique in the use of media for the game cutscenes. The game cover itself gives off a dark vibe as this is a horror game.

Chinese Art

I knew that I wanted look into this art movement when I had mentioned this to a support worker who had showed me artwork from the Google images, showing me different paintings from different Chinese artists. It was pretty interesting to look at different  pieces of artwork that artists make from creativity and imagination and that’s what I love about art in general. Even without the tools we have today, they managed to create printed artwork using hand-printing techniques.

Chinese_Art

 Visual Study

This was made on Photoshop using a vector tree and creating a background using different shades of colour of yellow to create the coloured that some examples of chinese artwork had. I know that there’s generally a range of symbolism that chinese artists include in their art and I really wanted to finish this, but I unfortunately ran of time and this was what I had produced in that amount of time.

Chinese Art artwork

Game(s) inspired

Screenshot

Tiger Knight is a game set in medieval china. The cut scenes have a traditional take on the Chinese art movement (inspiration-wise). From illustrations of characters and settings as silhouettes.

Interactive Artwork

For a task the tutor wanted us to do some research for inspiration for ideas for what we may have wanted to do for our own idea. I didn’t think that I would have a concept to roughly sketch out, but I did come up with something. I will confess that it was inspired from a piece of interactive artwork called ‘musical swings’. Through my time of researching, this stood out to me the most and so I decided to look deeper into it. From my own time of researching them, I noticed that they can emit sound through swinging. It was something that really interested me and I hoped to create an interactive art similar to its’ function, but I don’t think that it would be as complex.

Musical Swings

Interactive Wall

These two are good examples of a physical and a digital interactive art piece. The video clips give off good info on how each art piece functions. I enjoyed watching the video and looking at how they respond to interaction from different people.

Plan

We had some time to plan out our ideas. I did struggle with my blue print as I had several ideas in my head that were too similar to what already exists. The musical stepping stone was an inspired idea from the musical swings. I had originally wanted to make this a physical interactive art, using LED lights, bottle caps etc. I didn’t really know how I would create this.

image
My blue print
image (1)
questions based on feedback from partner

When my partner looked at my blueprint, he gave me feedback which resulted in me having to take a look at how I would be able to make the my design come to life or how I could even approach this in the first place. I wanted to use physical resources to create it, but I also thought that it would be easier to use digital software.

//scratch.mit.edu/projects/embed/67144516/?autostart=false

This is my Interactive art piece, obviously made in Scratch. I really didn’t know how I wanted to make it, even if there were plans on how I would make it. I really didn’t have a lot of confidence with building and wiring. I haven’t had a lot of experience in that area and even though my tutor had encouraged me to try the original idea, I decided that making it in Scratch would be easier for myself. I had some helpful tips from one of my classmates and tutor so that I have a easier time making it. When it was viewed by a few people, including my class mates. I had positive feedback, but one of them commented how I could change the facial expressions on the buttons made.

Leave a Reply

